Farm Sink

So what do you do when you’ve taken the day off work to swim and hike but the rain rolls in?  You “dollhouse” of course!

I got the call from my mom the other day informing me that Dollar Tree had wooden dollhouse furniture so naturally I jumped in the car and headed to my nearest store and purchased all they had. 

One of my finds was this sofa table that I decided to convert into a farm sink for the Linfield Kitchen.  First, I sketched on the top where I wanted the sink positioned.


I cut out the area.


I then removed the knobs and added corregated scrapbook paper to the fronts of the remaining drawers.


I painted the unit a mint green color.


I sized out my sink and cut my balsa wood pieces to form my basin.


I then poured white paint into the sink instead of painting with a brush because I wanted it to look more like a porcelain sink than wood.  I rotated the sink in all directions to spread the paint.  I then held it upside down to allow the excess to drip out.  As I allowed this to happen, I tamped the sink lightly on a scrap board so that drips would not dry around the sink rim.

Once the inside paint was set well enough, I lightly pressed the sides of the sink into a puddle of paint.  Then I sat it aside to dry…and this took a VERY long time.


I moved back to the sink base.  I measured and constructed a backsplash shelf using balsa wood, trim, and spindles.  I applied some World and Model tiles and the attached it to the back of the cabinet.

I had a small sink faucet that I attached to a long metal bead to make it taller.  I constructed the knobs using flat head pins and white glass beads. 


I then dry brushed brown paint around the edges to give it an antique look.


At this point my sink is nowhere close to being dry.  So I began constructing the scene.  I started with a bowl of pancake batter.  I partially filled the bowl with ivory paint.  I then sprinkled talcum on top.  I the took the tiny whisk and swirled it around a bit and left to dry.



Once everything was dry, I installed the sink and added all the finishing touches.

This entry was posted in Dollhouses and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

