Hutch Redesign

I decided to bash this Michael’s miniature hutch for use in the Linfield Kitchen.


First step was to deconstruct the unit.


With the bottom and top units reduced to shells,  I roughed out with pencil how I wanted to rework the shelves.


Starting with the bottom unit, I began constructing the shelves.  I constructed the shelves outside of the unit to allow for easier painting.  I used balsa board for the new shelves.


I decided not to use the center door and leave the center shelves open.  I covered the two side doors with corregated scrapbook paper after having removed the wooden knobs.

I dry fitted all the components one last time before painting.


I primed and painted all the bottom pieces.  I used a butter yellow on the shell, white for the shelves and door trim, and a soft green for the door panels.  It left it looking rather bright and baby nursery-ish so I used a dark brown paint and dry brushed the entire piece to antique it.

Before antiquing:


After antiquing:


Next I moved to the top unit.  I began constructing the shelving bits.  

Once everything was cut and dry fitted, I painted all the pieces.


I took the doors and added plexi to the back.


I covered the inside of the hutch with a print fabric.


I then began attaching all the shelves.


Once all the assembly was complete, I added glass beads for knobs and tiny jewelry findings as faux hinges.  Lastly, I began filling it with all my kitchen miniatures.


I can’t wait to place this in the Linfield kitchen!

This entry was posted in Dollhouses, How-To and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

