Linfield Bathroom

I had so much fun with this little room!  From the rolls of toilet paper to the tiny soaps,  it was such a joy coming up with all the different ways to make all the toiletries and bath accessories.

   
I started out with a hand-me-down porcelain bath set (tub, toilet, and sink).  I also had an old cupboard I could use for storage.  I finally decided on the placement of each piece and then set to work on creating all the other items.

 
I created a chandelier using various glass beads and jewelry findings.  I then attached a scrapbook frame to the ceiling and hung the chandelier from the center.

   
I created a rug using 3 different corded trims.  Starting from the center, I glued the trim as I went to a heavy piece of printer paper to help it keep its shape.  Once it was large enough, I allowed it to dry, cut off the excess paper, and added scalloped trim.

 
I created a tiny medicine cabinet by using an old door that I had removed from one of the shelving units that I used in my bakery (never throw away anything!).  I cut and glued pieces of balsa board to the back of the door to create the cabinet base.  I then added a shelf inside.  I painted it using purple acrylic as the base coat and white milk paint on top-sanding when dry to expose the base coat underneath.  I then printed out medicine boxes from a free printable website.  I then glued it straight to the wall.  

   
Using jewelry wire and a metal bead, I created a toilet paper holder.  For the rolls of paper, I took a drinking straw, glued and rolled on cotton bandaging (from my real life first aid kit), and then cut the straw into smaller sections/individual rolls once the glue was dry.  I also printed a free tissue box, assembled, and attached a scrap of bandage.

 
I made various perfume bottles from beads.  I also found a free rug printable online and printed it on to printer fabric for some fancy towels.  I applied various trims to dress them up.

   
I created this shelf using metal scrapbook picture corners as the brackets.  I then used an old acrylic window insert, cut to length, for the shelf.  I created a towel rod from two jewelry findings and a dowel and glued it under the shelf.  I lastly arranged all my pretty towels and perfume bottles on the shelf and attached above the tub.

 
I again used a bead and wire to create a hand towel ring near the sink.  I painted the cabinet the same way I did the medicine cabinet and then filled it with homemade goodies.

   
I created more containers by cutting small lengths of squared and rounded dowels and then painted them and applied little labels created from free printables I found online.  I also took an old real life candle and cut out pieces of wax to create soaps.

    
For above the sink, I had a little gold mirror that I thought would be perfect.  I then created another “glass” shelf using leftover window inserts and tiny brackets made from pieces of a wooden Chinese fan.  To create the toothe brush, I cut a small sliver of wood and then glued a tiny piece of fiber fill on the end.  I then applied a tiny amount of paint to the fiber fill to stiffen.  The little cup, along with the wall art, are just more free printables that I spruced up with handmade frames.

 
   
I created a waste basket using the same cording used on the rug, a piece of trim for the top, a small rose glued on the front, and more of my “toilet paper” for waste.

 
I created a soap dish for the tub by cutting a plastic button in half and attaching it to a piece of trim.  I added a candle wax piece of soap.  I also took an extra miniature milk bottle I had and shaved it down on the front and back so it was a flat bottle instead of rounded. I painted the bottle and applied more printed labels before setting it on the tub.

This entry was posted in Dollhouses and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Linfield Bathroom

  1. Eden says:

    So much detail! Very clever. God bless!

    Like

Leave a Reply

