Tudor Cottage-Duracraft Brookfield

 So I think I need a pastel break.  About a year ago, I purchased another kit from EBay called “The Brookfield” by Duracraft.


In spite of the icky sweet, gingerbread example shown on the box, I have decided this is crying out to be made into a rustic Tudor style cottage with grass thatched roof, dark red bricks, timber framing…the works.  


I been working on this project off and on for about 8 months now.  I think I will begin taking you through the entire process instead of just showing you the final product.  


First step after assembly was to cover the outside with stucco.  I used drywall spackle from Lowes and dabbed it with paper towels to achieve the texturing.  I also changed the window frames that came with the kit.  I only used the top arch and combined it with plain wood trim down the sides and a thin wood strip across the arch.


I then pulled out all my plain wood trim and began configuring the timber frames.  I googled Tudors and timber frames to get a better understanding of the style.  I stained all the wood a dark mahogany.  I also decided to add red brick accents under the door and windows.  I considered purchasing bricks but they were just too perfect.  I wanted something imperfect and aged.  So I pulled out my ceramic clay and hand cut each little brick.  I then decided to do larger arched stone accents around the door based on Tudors I was seeing online.  Once the bricks and stones were attached to the house, I hand painted each one a brick red and gray color.

I still have a lot of bricks to go and I’m out of red paint so I will check back in on this tiny gem later.

This entry was posted in Dollhouses, How-To and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

